How we work

The Standardisation Management Board is responsible for the overall management of the technical work.


The standards work of the Commission is carried out through technical committees and subcommittees, composed of representatives of the Full Member National Committees, each dealing with a particular subject.


Technical committees are created or disbanded by the Standardization Management Board (SMB). They may delegate part of their scopes to subcommittees, in accordance with the Directives.


Each technical committee has a chairman and a secretariat, both appointed by the SMB amongst representatives of Full Member National Committees.